• April 1, 2020 at 8:15 am #33859
    Max KranabetterMax Kranabetter
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I hope you are all doing good! I am currently working on a track and I have this image in my head of some big chords, I just can’t get any to sound right. I’m looking for chords that sound big but in an “emotional” way. This track that I found on Spotify by Orum Palmer has just that sound that I am looking for, but I’m still a beginner when it comes to sound design so I would appreciate any help you could give me!

April 2, 2020 at 7:36 am #33904
      Joe HanleyJoe Hanley
      Keymaster

Hi Max. Post an example of what you’ve done so far. We can take a listen and discuss the differences.

April 2, 2020 at 12:37 pm #33948
        Participant

Sure, this is one of my tries, but I can’t get it sound anywhere near how the original sounds. I think I can hear a lead sound and a piano sound with the chords. I think the chords have a short attack time, but long enough to be noticeable, 76ms sounded right to me. They then have a reasonably quick decay time (I used 500ms) and then fall to a lower sustain level (about 30%). I can also hear a lot of white noise and reverb in the chords, so I added that as well. I just don’t really know where to go from here, what should I be looking out for? Processing, waveshapes, filters?

I can’t attach the fxp file, so here is a Screenshot and an Audio of me playing a chord with the serum patch

chords

Attachments:
          April 3, 2020 at 9:52 am #33978
          Joe HanleyJoe Hanley
          Keymaster

Try the following:

1. Your patch has a very square-ish vibe, which makes it kind of cold and artificial. Whereas their patch has a more orchestral string vibe, and strings provide a much warmer and emotional tone. To get that string sound check out this tut: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zz8bHNgzBw